Council Members

Appointment of members to the Teaching Council

The Council has 37 members and 16 of these are registered teachers who are elected by teachers.

The appointments follow an election which took place during February and March, and the nomination of members by the bodies designated in the Teaching Council Acts, 2001-2015. The nominating bodies include the Higher Education Institutions, teacher unions, school management, parents’ councils, IBEC and ICTU, as well as Ministerial appointees.

The Council looks forward to continuing its important work to promote and regulate professional standards in teaching, for the benefit of the profession and the public.

The members of the Teaching Council are:

Nominating Body/Constituency Elected
Deirdre O'ConnorINTO
Declan KelleherINTO
John HolianASTI
Noelle MoranASTI
Claire MarkeyTUI
Gerry QuinnTUI
Dr Padraig O'DuibhirColleges of Education
Prof Anne O'GaraColleges of Education
Prof Mary O'SullivanUniversities & Named Third Level Colleges
Dr Mary FlemingUniversities & Named Third Level Colleges
Ferdia KellySchool Management -post-primary (JMB)
Pat GilmoreSchool Management -post-primary (ETBI)
Yvonne Ní MhurchúSchool Management - post-primary (Gaelscoileanna)
Áine LynchNational Parents Council (primary)
Paul MooneyNational Parents Council (post-primary)
Michael DelargeyICTU
Frank TurpinIBEC
Martin LallyMinisterial Appointment
Gregor KerrElected Teacher, Dublin Primary
Máire LineenElected Teacher, Dublin, Primary
Karen DevineElected Teacher, Connacht/Ulster, Primary
Eamonn ShaughnessyElected Teacher, Connacht/Ulster, Primary
Colm HarteElected Teacher, Leinster, Primary
Catherine DoolanElected Teacher, Leinster, Primary
Sean McMahonElected Teacher, Munster, Primary
Tracie TobinElected Teacher, Munster, Primary
Séamus O'ConnorElected Teacher, Munster, Primary
Mairéad GlynnElected Teacher, Ireland, Post-Primary, Community & Comprehensive
Denis MagnerElected Teacher, Leinster, Post-Primary, VEC
Seamus Ó FearraighElected Teacher, Connacht/Munster/Ulster, Post-Primary, VEC
Patricia DuffyElected Teacher, Leinster, Post-Primary, Voluntary
Sean O'NeillElected Teacher, Leinster, Post-Primary, Voluntary
Elizabeth CooneyElected Teacher, Connacht/Munster/Ulster, Post-Primary, Voluntary
Niall DuddyElected Teacher, Connacht/Munster/Ulster, Post-Primary, Voluntary